top of page

2020 Mayor’s Awards For The Arts Finalists Announced

The Mayor’s Awards for the Arts committee is pleased to announce the finalists in each category for the 2020 awards. The Mayor’s Awards for the Arts recognize and celebrate artists and arts supporters in Kamloops and the Thompson-Nicola Regional District.

For 2020, awards will be given for each of the following categories: Emerging Artist, Corporate Champion and Enduring Supporter.

Emerging Artist: Recognizes an emerging Kamloops artist/musician/performer (age 18-35) working in the visual and/or performing arts for their current accomplishments and future potential. The recipient of the Emerging Artist award will also receive a $500.00 cash prize sponsored by the Kamloops Arts Council. Nominees in this category are Marcella Barz, Bianka Ede, Nick Fast, Lucas Olsen-Willford, Nicole Sonneson, Matt Stanley, Ashley Walshbarr, and James Watson.

The finalists for Emerging Artists are Marcella Barz, Lucas Olsen-Willford, and James Watson.

Corporate Champion: Recognizes outstanding Kamloops business leaders and/or medium to large businesses/corporations that have made a significant contribution supporting local arts and culture through donations (cash or in-kind), sponsorships and/or volunteer services in support of a local arts organization and/or Kamloops artist. Nominees in this category are CFJC, ideaLEVER Solutions, Lee's Music, and Sandman Signature Kamloops.

The finalists for Corporate Champion are CFJC, ideaLEVER Solutions, and Lee’s Music.

Enduring Supporter: The Kamloops Art Gallery, Kamloops Symphony and Western Canada Theatre are now all mature, nationally recognized arts institutions. Each have dedicated 40+ years to sharing performances, exhibitions and associated programs with residents and visitors of Kamloops and the TNRD. This award recognizes the long-serving and foundational commitment of an outstanding individual through contributions of time and potentially support (cash or in-kind) that has contributed to the success of one or all of these arts organizations. The nominees in this category are Francis Barnett, Bryce Herman, Neil MacDonald, Phyllis Mader, and Michael Powell.

The finalists for Enduring Supporter are Francis Barnett, Phyllis Mader, and Michael Powell.

“Our heartfelt congratulations to all the nominees and the finalists in each of these award categories,” says Margaret Chrumka, co-chair of the Mayor’s Award for the Arts committee. “These nominees have contributed significantly to the vibrancy of the arts community in Kamloops and we are so grateful for their commitment to demonstrating that the arts are an important social and economic contributor.”

The 2020 Mayor’s Awards for the Arts will be presented at the 13th annual Mayor’s Gala for the Arts, Viva le Arti: Under The Tuscan Moon, on January 18, 2020 in Colombo Lodge. Tickets for the gala are $125, and are on sale from Kamloops Live! Box Office.

bottom of page